rice cake review

Archive for April 26th, 2010

King of Thai Noodle House is a popular chain of Thai restaurants located in San Francisco that are easily recognizable by their purple colored walls. Most of their restaurants are open late into the early morning, perfect for those craving made to order Pad Thai after midnight. The service is quick and their prices are decent, but I’m not a huge fan of their food because most of their noodles are dripping with grease!

I ordered Sticky Rice with Mango and it was my first time trying the dessert. It wasn’t what I expected it to be. In my mind, I thought sticky rice desserts would resemble more of a thick rice pudding that’s served in a dessert glass. Well, this was what was placed in front of me instead.

Sticky Rice with Mango

Despite my skepticism, it was actually pretty good! The sticky rice was soft and warm, with slight hints of sweetness and toasted sesame. The mango wasn’t too fresh — a little tart actually — but I didn’t mind. The dessert is served on top of coconut milk, which due to it’s high saturated fat content, makes this dessert VERY filling. (Well, to me anyways!)

yummy!

My only complaints are that the portion of sticky rice was really small and that the price is kind of high at $4.50. I liked the homemade taste and the way the sticky rice melted in your mouth though, so I deem this sticky rice a…

4 on the Puteokchi Scale!



  • None
  • ricecakereview: Thanks Carey! All photos are taken by yours truly. Well, except for the mochi one in this entry. xD
  • Carey: Awesome job Johnny! Did you take all the photos?
  • Carey: Fancy blog! You need to teach me Wordpress sometime!

Entries

April 2010
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Puteokchi Scale!

Pu-Teok-Chi: a rating scale combining the Filipino puto, the Korean tteok, and the Japanese mochi!

1 PTC – Bad. Makes me wonder why I like rice cakes so much. I hope I never encounter these!

2 PTC – Okay, but I've had better.

3 PTC – Good, wouldn't mind having a second piece.

4 PTC – Great! I want some more!

5 PTC – Best of the best! I will be dreaming about these.